Academic Standards and Admissions Committee

The duties of this committee shall be to discuss and make recommendations on problems relevant to academic standards, to consider the readmission of students dropped from the College, and to report to the University Academic Standards Committee each fall. This committee is responsible for reviewing standards and procedures relating to admission of students to the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences and for recommending admissions policies to the Representative Assembly. Annemarie Butler, Philosophy and Religious Studies, Chair (term ends S2017) Barbara Blakely, English (term ends S2017) Matthew DeLisi, Sociology (term ends S2019) Daniel Krier, Sociology (term ends S2018) Nicole Valenzuela, EEOB (term ends S2019) Oleksandr “Alex” Zhylyevskyy, Economics (term ends S2018) Mason Babcock, LAS Student Academic Services Amy Slagell, LAS Associate Dean

Curriculum Committee

This committee shall make recommendations to the College faculty on matters of educational policy related to the structure and content of the College curricula. The committee shall prepare the portions of the University Catalog related to the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, according to the guidelines from the University Curriculum Committee. The faculty members on the committee shall serve six-year terms, with three members’ terms expiring in each odd-numbered year. Gordon Miller, Chemistry, Chair (term ends S2017) Soma Chaudhuri, Computer Science (term ends S2022) Mary Creswell, Music and Theatre (term ends S2022) Max Guyll, Psychology (term ends S2021) Mark Hargrove, BBMB (term ends S2022) David Hollander, History (term ends S2018) Sergio Lence, Economics (term ends S2018) Matthew Sivils, English (term ends S2020) James Wilson, Mathematics (term ends S2017) Kathleen Timmons, LAS Student Academic Services Stephanie Hamilton, College Program Coordinator Amy Slagell, LAS Associate Dean Find more information on the Curriculum Committee page.

LAS Computer Advisory Committee

The committee seeks and reviews proposals for computer-based instructional support. It also reviews policy regarding the University student computer fee. The university-wide student computer fee was established to provide improved computer facilities throughout the University and to stimulate the use of computer-based instruction. This committee leads the pursuit of those goals for the college of Liberal Arts and Sciences. The LAS Advisory Committee has been set up as a committee with the responsibility to allocate money for academic computing in the College. The committee allocates over $500,000 per year collected from student computer fees. Stacey Weber-Feve, World Languages and Cultures, Chair (term ends S2019) Gray Calhoun, Economics (term ends S2018) Matthew Hufford, EEOB (term ends S2017) Jay Newell, Greenlee (term ends S2017) Lu Ruan, Computer Science (term ends S2019) Geoffrey Sauer, English (term ends S2017) Arne Hallam, LAS Associate Dean Student membership varies by year.

Faculty Awards Committee

The committee shall concern itself with general modes and procedures for faculty and alumni recognition. It shall consider and make recommendations to the Dean on nominations for Faculty Citations, Alumni Awards, Distinguished Professorships, Outstanding Teacher Awards, and other awards as requested by the Dean. Elizabeth Hoffman, Economics, Chair (term ends S2018) Joseph Kupfer, Philosophy and Religious Studies (term ends S2019) Ranjan Maitra, Statistics (term ends S2019) Olga Mesropova, World Languages and Cultures (term ends S2018) James Raich, EEOB (term ends S2017) Steven Rodermel, GDCB (term ends S2018) William Gutowski, LAS Associate Dean

Faculty Development Committee

The committee shall concern itself with matters pertaining to the professional growth of faculty members. It shall attempt to promote an atmosphere generally conducive for maximum development in the areas of teaching, research and service and ensure faculty awareness of opportunities. It shall support individual departments toward these ends. At the request of the Dean, the committee shall review and make recommendations upon proposals for faculty development involving university or collegiate resources, including Faculty Improvement Leaves, Foreign Travel Grants, University Research Grants, and other similar programs. Rajesh Singh, Economics, Chair (term ends S2017) Travis Butler, Philosophy and Religious Studies (term ends S2017) Carol Chapelle, English (term ends S2019) Kristie Franz, GEAT (FPDA F2016, term ends S2017) Neal Iverson, GEAT (F2016 Sub for Franz) Jorgen Johansen, BBMB (term ends S2019) Zlatan Krizan, Psychology (term ends S2019) Young-Jin Lee, Chemistry (term ends S2019) Richard Mansbach, Political Science (term ends S2018) Marzia Rosati, Physics and Astronomy (term ends S2019) William Gutowski, LAS Associate Dean

Honors Committee

Kathleen Hilliard, History, Chair (term ends S2017) Diane Bassham, GDCB (term ends S2017) Kevin Blankenship, Psychology (term ends S2018) James Cochran, Physics and Astronomy (term ends S2019) Charissa Menefee, English (term ends S2018) Kate Padgett Walsh, Philosophy and Religious Studies (S2019) Emily Olson, LAS Student Academic Services Amy Slagell, LAS Associate Dean

Faculty Promotion and Tenure Review Committee

The committee shall concern itself with general modes and procedures for faculty promotions and tenure, and act as a review and advisory panel to the Dean on departmental promotion and tenure recommendations. It will not be an appellate committee for individual faculty members. More Information on Promotion and Tenure James Andrews, History, Chair (term ends S2019) Lynn Clark, EEOB (term ends S2017) James Evans, Physics and Astronomy, Chair (term ends S2017) Heike Hofman, Statistics (term ends S2017) Stephanie Madon, Psychology (term ends S2018) Donald Simonson, Music and Theatre (term ends S2019) Arne Hallam, LAS Associate Dean

Diversity and Inclusion Committee

The LAS Diversity Committee will advise the Dean on the full range of diversity issues confronted by the College. These include issues related to the recruitment and retention of a diverse faculty, staff, and student population; the quality of the college and university environments for diverse populations, and the appropriateness of the curriculum in providing students with the necessary knowledge, attitudes, and skills to function as global citizens. Beyond identifying issues, the Committee is charged with making concrete recommendations for change aimed at enhancing diversity in the College. The LAS Diversity Committee is also asked to coordinate with its university counterpart and to advise the Dean regarding recommendations from the university committee and their implementation. Javier Vela, Chemistry, Chair and College Equity Adviser Juan Cordoba, Economics (term ends S2018) Leslie Hogben, Math (term ends S2019) Meifen Wei, Psychology (term ends S2017) Tunde Adeleke , Director, African and African American Studies Sebastian Braun, Director, American Indian Studies Jane Dusselier, Director, Asian American Studies Chad Gasta, Director, U.S. Latino/a Studies Ann Oberhauser, Director, Women’s and Gender Studies Der Vang, LAS Multicultural Liaison Officer Beate Schmittmann, LAS Dean Find more information on the LAS College Diversity page.

Outcomes Committee

David Alexander, Philosophy and Religious Studies
Steve Butler, Mathematics
Michael Dahlstrom, Greenlee
Gurpur Prabu, Computer Science
Linda Quinn Allen, World Languages and Cultures
Robert Wallace, EEOB
Amy Slagell, LAS Associate Dean

Sustainability Committee (Green Team)

More information on the Sustainability Committee